I hate to be self-promoting but…

If you like the writing I have done on this blog, you may (or may not, but I would really appreciate you having a look) be interested in my creative writing and art. I have written a novella called ‘Dull Eyes; Scarred Faces’ which is available both on amazon and on Lulu http://www.lulu.com/gb/en/shop/azra-page/dull-eyes-scarred-faces/paperback/product-21013880.html. I also have a blog for creative writing and art http://insomniaincazrapage.wordpress.com/.

It’s called ‘Dull Eyes; Scarred Faces’ and is based on my personal experiences of the mental health services in the UK. However, it is entirely fictional, a reassuring fact since it also features zombies! It intends to twist the traditional mental illness memoir style, and compare the numbing effect of psychiatric drugs, with what it is like to be a zombie.

Here is the blurb: Pills. Pills can change who you are. And whoever you are, if someone gave you the right drugs they could sedate you until you slept; or at the very least felt like a zombie. In a world populated by drugged creatures, just the average psychiatric hospital, what if real zombies turned up? Would you be able to tell the difference between them and the patients? Or even them and the staff?

Please take a look. It isn’t the best thing I have ever written,as I wrote it when I was very unwell, but due to it’s insights that my position whilst writing it allowed, I still feel that it is worth a read. And it only costs a fiver!

2 thoughts on “I hate to be self-promoting but…

Leave a comment