Hannibal Countdown

Hannibal-season-2-poster-570x760

I have something to confess: I am a major fannibal. I haven’t been part of a fandom since my Harry Potter phase, but I just love Hannibal so much (I’m talking the Bryan Fuller TV series, not the films, although I do also like the films). It’s probably wierd that I find it comforting in times of stress, as seen as it is mostly about killing, serial killers, horrible murders, imagining killing, framing people as killers, and more killing (all in disgusting though imaginative ways). But I can’t help loving it.

Last night’s announcement of season two’s premiere has left me inspired to actively explore my obsession further. That sounds like I am going to become a serial killer, don’t worry I’m not. If you have watched Hannibal as many times as I have; you may have noticed that Hugh Dancy and Mads Mikkelsen swap the order of their names each episode, so that one is billed at the top of the titles one week, and the other the next week. Watch the titles and check. See what I mean? It’s kind of sweet really (or massively egotistical).

This gave me an idea for a countdown until Hannibal starts again in February. I have looked into the careers of both of Hannibal’s stars and discovered they were in lots of odd little films (exactly the kind of films I like) before they were in the series. I have decided that each Friday until the 28th of February, I am going to review a film that either Mads Mikkelsen or Hugh Dancy (see- I’ve mentioned them both ways round now) have starred in. One week I will review a Hugh Dancy film and the next week a Mads Mikkelsen film.

If anyone wants to join me, I will be announcing which film I will be looking at the following week at the end of the previous week’s review.

Next week I will be reviewing ‘The Door’ (2009) which stars Mads Mikkelsen.

Here is a link to the one I mean on Rotten Tomatoes:

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/die-monster-die-the-dunwich-horror-double-feature/

 

Leave a Reply

