Christina Maiden and her play ‘Spending A Penny’

CHRISTINA’S PLAY WILL BE PERFORMED ON WEDNESDAY 2ND APRIL AT THE BRIDGE HOTEL IN NEWCASTLE. Please come along!!

Hello Christina, Could you tell me a bit about your play ‘Spending A Penny’?

Spending a Penny is about two airport toilet attendants – Gillian and Jackie. On a normal morning at work, Gillian is behaving unusually. She’s decked the toilets out with fairy lights, bunting and even a lava lamp. Jackie’s convinced something’s going on. And she’s right.

Where did you get the idea?

I started thinking about the location first. Public toilets are such bizarre places. The host of different people who go in and out, the snatched conversations at the sink or over cubicle doors, the embarrassing sounds people sometimes make and the fact that people go there to do something so completely normal but often not talked about made me think it would be a fascinating place to tell a story. I then considered whose perspective I would be most interested in and so decided to look at a few hours in the airport toilet as experience by two cleaners.

Why should people come and see it?

It’s not every day you can watch a play set in an airport toilet! Spending a Penny is a warm story that will make you laugh. My fondess of toilet humour certainly played a part in the location choice. However for me plays are about all about the characters. I love exploring characters. Delving into their stories – why they are the way they are and the way in which this influences how they relate to others. I find people absolutely fascinating and I really enjoy exploring the intricacies of human relationships through scriptwriting.

Could you tell me a bit about what you have written before?

Plays are my style of choice, certainly. Dialogue and the space between what characters say to each other and what they mean is what I love about writing. Plays give the perfect platform to explore that. I write bits of poetry here and there but for my eyes only. I wouldn’t want to inflict that on anyone else

.I’ve written a couple of short plays for young performers Once Upon a Story and The Last Word. The Last Word was one of the winners of Trinity College’s International Playwriting Competition 2012 and was also performed by Shincliffe Primary School in December. I really enjoy writing for children as it gives me permission to explore weird and wonderful ideas in a way that isn’t as possible when writing for adults. I’ve also written a one act play, Instructions Not Included, about a young woman looking back on the past seven years as she packs up her house. This was performed by Northumberland Theatre Company in March 2013

What are your future ambitions with your work?

I hope to develop my skills and experience as a playwright and doing the Live course has been fantastic for that! I would love to be able to make a living from writing plays – bringing beautiful stories and interesting characters to life.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

