I hate to be self-promoting but… #4

I have started up another blog. This one is about my experience as an autodidact (which I have previously written about for The Guardian http://www.theguardian.com/education/2014/feb/28/could-you-be-an-autodidact )

“The idea is that I use this blog almost as a diary, combined with creative responses to what I am reading/studying, and the way the concepts in a variety of books are connected. I’m hoping it will be an informal though intelligent space for autodidactism to be explored (SO PLEASE COMMENT ON POSTS TO START DISCUSSIONS). I will be listing and writing about the books and courses I am working through, so feel free to use this site as a source of informal reviews.”

“My education was cut short at 17 due to long term illness; something that I was devestated by at the time. My academic grades had always been pretty good, and I thought I was going to go to university when I finished school. I tried to continue my traditional studies (AS and A-Levels) from the hospital I was in for two years, but I freaked out and was only able to do some of the exams.

Since getting out I have been determined to get my education back on track; though not in any kind of traditional way. My interests are vast and unruly, and I have always wanted to learn about a wide range of subjects. Due to continuing ill health, full time education still isn’t a plausaible option; so I have decided to kill two birds with one stone by educating myself.”

Please take a look! http://diaryofanautodidact.wordpress.com/2014/07/18/hello/

Leave a Reply

